Wednesday, September 03, 2008

Dublin SFC Statistics 2008

Twenty seven players featured in Dublin's Championship campaign, ten of whom started in all six games. Stephen Cluxton, David Henry, Colin Moran and Conal Keaney played every minute of these games. With Dublin rotating heavily during the NFL campaign, no player featured in all 11 competitive games but Stephen Cluxton, David Henry and Colin Moran, having also started and finished 6 NFL games, have faced the most competitive action for Dublin this year. Of the substitutes used Darren Magee, Derek Murray & Philip McMahon spent least time on the field enjoying only 11 minutes action between them.

Jason Sherlock was the most substituted player in the championship being replaced in three of his four starts, however his contribution around the field was critical to Dublin's success this year. Mark Vaughan was the most used substitute, coming off the line for each of the four Croke Park games.

Dublin scored 6-66 over the 4 games conceding 4-43. The average scores for & against per game are very similar to last year's championship return although the goals conceded this year proved costly. Top scorer was Tomás Quinn who returned 1-16 with Alan Broagan on his coat-tails with 2-11 and Conal Keaney with 1-12. A fabulous return from Alan given his scores came from play & his early injury in the Tyrone game.

In contrast to the 2007 championship there were major changes in the back line through the 4 games. Last year the keeper and all 6 backs started every game, but this year Stephen Cluxton, David Henry, Bryan Cullen & Barry Cahilll were the only ones to achieve this honour & even then Bryan & Barry were each substituted once.

No comments: