Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Team Selection - NFL vs. Tyrone

Pat Gilroy's 1st major team selection shows some interesting new faces, major positional changes & will certainly be a big talking point in the lead up to the NFL game under lights on Saturday 31/01.  Even allowing for absence through injury & player unavailability there is some radical reconstruction.  A new full back lne appears which also sees the return of last year's Junior star Denis Bastick to a new role at number 3.  Ross McConnell's moves from full back to his more comfortable club position at centre field partnering Whelo.  David Henry is given new responsibilities as a forward where he is flanked by debutants James Brogan & Tiernan Diamond while the full forward line is the only line with familiarity from last year with Conal Keaney, Jayo & Bernard leading the line.  David Henry captains the side for the night. Let the fireworks begin.

8 of the team started in last year's championship exit to Tyrone - Stephen Cluxton, Bryan Cullen, Barry Cahill, Ross McConnell, Ciaran Whelan, David Henry, Conal Keaney, Jason Sherlock, albeit some in very new positions.Bernard also came on that day as an early substitute for his injured brother.Additionally Paddy Andrews & Alan Hubbard featured in last years U21 championship.

Starting 15:  

James Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER), David Henry (Raheny), Tiernan Diamond (St. Vincents), 

No comments: