Sunday, February 22, 2009

U21 FC Louth 2-08 Dublin 3-12

Dublin's recent dismal results at U21 wre finally put to an end as Jim Gavin's charges put Louth away with a fine win.

But it could have been so different. Playing with a strong wind in the 1st half Dublin were unable to shake off the Louth challenge.  Yes Dublin started strongest & an early goal from Dean Rock palming to the net after a cross goal pass from Gavin McEntyre set up an early 5 point lead. But the Wee men rallied and nerves were jangling when Louth scored a late goal to tie the game.  Paddy Andrews was superb during this period & but for his efforts Louth could have set up an unasailable lead.  The very impressive David Quinn kicked a late point to give the Dubs a 1 point advantage but the omens were not good playing into a 2nd half gale.

Jim Gavin made a critical half time substitution with Erin's Isle's Luke Sweetman replacing an under par Ted Furman & it was the same Sweetman who picked off Dean Rock from the throw in & Barney's son buried the ball in the roof of the net.  Further points from Paddy O'Connor, David Quinn etal pushed the Dubs further ahead & when substitute Barry O'Rorke goaled the game was all but over.  It was some weekend for the 2007 Supporters Club Minor Player of the Year who had also played a part in Saturday's Crokes victory.  Louth kicked 1-02 unanswered late on to take away some of the gloss from the victory but Jim gavin can only be happy with a 7 point win a quarter final fixture against the Royallers.  Colm O'Rourke & his son Shane were interested spectators and for the Dubs to progress further they will have to tighten up from the off.

Dublin – Dominic McDonnell (St. Sylvester's), Colin Moore (Ballymun Kickhams), Sean Byrne (St. Vincent's), Chris Guckian (St. Jude's), Johnny Cooper (Na Fianna), John Sheanon (Cuala), Paddy Andrews (St. Brigid's) (0-01), Cian O'Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes), Colm Murphy (St. Jude's) (Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer) (55)), David Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields) (0-02) (Niall Brogan (Thomas Davis)), Ted Furman (Ballymun Kickhams) (Luke Sweetman (30)), Dean Kelly (Trinity Gaels) (0-02) (James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams) (55)), Gavin McIntyre (St. Brigid's) (Barry O'Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes (35) (1-01)), Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams) (2-03), Paddy O'Connor (Thomas Davis) (0-03). 

LOUTH – Darren Kearne, Brendan Connolly, Peter Nixon, Jason Clarke (0-01), Padraic Rath, Declan Byrne, Gerard Hoey, Shane McCann, Shane Brennan (Gareth Moran (40)), Niall Conlon (Andy McDonnell (50)), Pepe Smith (1-03), Derek Maguire (1-02), Dean Matthews (0-02), Kevin Rogers (Brian Duffy (45)), Derek Mulligan.

No comments: