Sunday, February 06, 2011

NFL - Armagh 1-11 Dublin 2-12

Armagh 1-11 Dublin 2-12
Dublin got their league campaign of to the perfect start with a four point win over Armagh.
There was a slight scare for the Dubs when Michael Fitzsimons was injured in the warmup and missed the pre-match parade.  But to the relief of all he shook off the knock and made his way out for the throwin.  The Dubs quickly recorded the 1st score of the game when Michael Dara kicked over and pushed home their advantage when Bernard Brogan setup Vincent’s start Diarmuid Connolly who made no mistake and found the net.  Shortly after the skills of the Armagh keeper were called upon when pulling off a good save from Kevin Mc.  Kevin’s pace would cause problems for the Orange men through the game.  In truth but for the Dubs being caught in possession too often when scoring chances presented they could have had a greater lead.  Armagh capitalised and a goal from Charlie Vernon saw his shot hit the net.  It was nip and tuck up to the half time whistle and when Mossy kicked over a45 it finished Dublin 1-07, Armagh 1-04.
Armagh kicked the 1st score of the 2nd half and continued to put pressure on through this period.  With 15 minutes left the superb Steven McDonald kicked a huge free to level the game.  They put on huge pressure but the Dublin defence stood up to the test.  Around the field James McCarthy excelled at #6, while Sean Murray was immense at full back.  Then a moment of brilliance from Bernard Brogan, receiving a long through ball from O’Gara and steering the ball by the onrushing keeper.  There was one final moment for the northerners but Clucko pulled off a solid save from Stevie Mc.  Going into injury the Dubs had a 4 point lead, which they held onto up to the final whistle.
A word of thanks to the Armagh hosts who were hospitable through the evening and have a new stadium to be proud of.
Armagh: P McEvoy, V Martin (F Moriarty (20)), B Donaghy, A Mallon, K Dyas, C McKeever, P Duffy, K Toner, C Vernon (1-01), M Mackin (A Duffy (45)), BJ Padden (0-01) (C Clarke (55)), R Grugan (C Watters (65)), B Mallon (M O’Rourke (50) (0-01)), G Swift (0-04), S McDonnell (0-04).
Dublin: Stephen Cluxton, Alan Hubbard, Sean Murray, Michael Fitzimons, Declan Lally (0-01), James McCarthy, Paul Casey, Michael Dara Macauley (0-01), Denis Bastick (Barry Cahill (50)), Bryan Cullen, Kevin McManamon (0-02), Diarmuid Connolly (1-01) (Alan Brogan (60)), Tomas Quinn (0-02 (Paul Flynn (45) (0-01)), Eoghan O'Gara (0-01) (Paddy Andrews (65)), Bernard Brogan (1-03) (Dean Kelly (69)). 

No comments: