Friday, January 26, 2007

Player of the Year Awards 2005

The 2005 awards marked a special year as the Club introduced a new award, a merit award, recognising a major contribution to the development of gaelic games in the county. The award would be named the John O'Neill memorial award in honour of our departed friend and colleague. The first recipient was Jimmy Keaveney, with the award presented by the O'Neill family.

The Player of the Year Award winners were:

Tomás Quinn (Football), Ronan Falon (Hurling), Lyndsey Davey (Ladies Football), Ciara Durkan (Camogie), and John McCaffrey (Minor).

Additional presentations were made to:

Eimear Brannigan, captain of the All-Ireland Junior Camogie Champions,
Amy Connolly, captain of the All-Ireland U14 Ladies Football Champions
Dessie Farrell and Darren Homan to mark their retirement from the game.

No comments: