Monday, June 09, 2008

JFC - Dublin 0-11 Kildare 1-06

Those arriving early in Croke Park were frustrated with delays in opening Hill 16 for the JFC semi-final, but when the gates finally opened the small crowd enjoyed a JFC success. The management team of Mick Deegan, Mick Galvin & Jack Sheedy brought back memories of times past but on the field the superb play of corner forwards Warren Finnegan & Adrian Darcy provided memories of their own.

Dublin started strongest with Kildare struggling to hold senior panelist Eoghan O'Gara who was the perfect foil for his corner forward colleagues. All around the field the Dubs were strong and would have been further ahead at half time but for a pointed effort from Kildare which dropped short but to the frustration of Dubs keeper Colin Clarke went over his head into the corner of the net. However the Dubs still led by two at half time 0-08 to 1-03.

The second half served up very few scores with the Dubs holding on in the end but it could have been different as Crumlin & star of Glenda Gilsenan's Celebrity Bainisteoir's team Niall Brogan put ina great block to deny Kildare a 2nd goal. Warren Finnegan & Darcy again notched up a few points and the Dubs were home 0-11 to 1-06. Interesting to note that there was little celebration as the Dubs know they will have to up their game to bring home a Leinster title.

Dublin - Colin Clarke (Fingallians); Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Colin Prenderville (Fingal Ravens); Michael White (Fingal Ravens), Austin Dennis (Skeries Harps), Niall Brogan (Crumlin); Dennis Bastic (Templeogue/Synge Street), Colin Daly (Skerries Harps); Ronan Joyce (St. Judes) (0-01) (Brian Sexton (St. Sylvesters) (50)), Karl Connolly (Ballymun Kickhams), Gary Brennan (Fingal Ravens); Warren Finnegan (St. Brigids) (0-05), Owen O'Gara (Templeogue/Synge Street) (0-01) , Adrian Darcy (St. Oliver Plunketts/E.R.) (0-04) (Ciaran Norton (Fingal Ravens) (60)).

Kildare - M Herbert; M Donnelly, C Fagan (R Walsh (30)), G Kearney; O Hearty, J Dempsey, J Mulpeter; M Kenny, W Heffernan; M Hartnett (0-01), M Kennedy (1-00), P Mooney (0-01); M Fitzharris (0-04), E Carew (N Browne (35)), A Middleton (E Kennedy (30) (G Hendy (55))).

No comments: