Thursday, June 05, 2008

SFC Team Selection - Dublin v. Louth

O'Toole's Eamonn Fennell is rewarded for an excellent league campaign with a starting place & championship debut for Sunday's game against Louth. Joing him in making his debut will be Paddy Andrews, somewhat surprisingly selected on the half forward line.

With a number of players absent through suspension the Dubs team still retains a sense of familiarity with ten of the players who started against Kerry last summer starting again.

Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

David Henry (Raheny) Ross McConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) Stephen O'Shaughnessy (Lucan Sarsfields)

Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields) Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps) Barry Cahill (St. Brigids)

Eamonn Fennell (O'Tooles) Shane Ryan (Naomh Mearnog)

Colin Moran (Ballyboden St. Endas) Jason Sherlock (St. Oliver Plunketts) Paddy Andrews (St. Brigids)

Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas) Tomas Quinn (St. Vincents)

This will be the 55th championship meeting between the two counties with Dublin coming out on top 34-13, with seven draws.

Louth's last win over Dublin in the championship was in 1973 when they won by 1-08 to 0-09, while their last win over the Dubs in Croke Park was in the 1957 Leinster final. They have lost the last eleven games to the Dubs (1974, 1975, 1979, 1983, 1990, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1999 & 2003).

Seven of Dublin's team played in the last championship meeting of the teams (Stephen Cluxton, Barry Cahill, David Henry, Colin Moran, Bryan Cullen, Shane Ryan & Alan Brogan with Tomas Quinn also introduced as a sub.

Recent Championship Results:
2003 - Dublin 1-19 Louth 0-09
1999 - Dublin 2-15 Louth 0-14
1996 - Dublin 1-09 Louth 0-08
1995 - Dublin 0-19 Louth 2-05
1994 - Dublin 1-15 Louth 1-08

No comments: