Sunday, July 27, 2008

JFC - Dublin All Ireland Champions 2008

Dublin 0-13 Roscommon 0-07

Dublin won their their first All-Ireland JFC title in almost 50 years with a strong performance in Portlaoise. It started well with Eoghan O'Gara tormenting the Roscommon defence & ably assisd by Karl Connolly & Jonny Cooper it wasn't long before they opened up a 3 point lead. The lead could have been larger but for the width of the crossbar as Conolly's goalbound shot rebounded off the bar. But with Frankie Dolan impressing for he Rossies it was a nervous Dublin crowd contemplating only a 1 point lead 0-06, 0-05.

In the 2nd half Dublin raised their game with O'Gara again to the fore but for this period the defence stifled all Roscommon attempts in a period which saw them only score 2 points. Even reduced to 14 men the Dubs were still too strong & in this period Fingal Ravens Darren Daly & Skerries Harps Austin Dennis were powerful.

The biggest roard of play was saved for the entrance of Darren Homan & when a Rossie free dropped short in injury time the Dubs entered the field to celebrate success for the 2nd time in a week.

Up went Denis Bastic to receive the trophy & call for more silverware for what will hopefuly be a fantastic summer.

Darren & Collie

Jack Sheedy

Dublin: Colin Clarke (Fingallians), Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Colin Prenderville (Fingal Ravens), Michael White (Fingal Ravens), Austin Dennis (Skerries Harps), Niall Brogan (Crumlin), Denis Bastic (Templeogue Synge St.) (0-01), Colin Daly (Skerries Harps), Ronan Joyce (St. Judes) (Darren Homan (Ballyboen St. Endas) (40) (0-01)), Karl Connolly (Ballymun Kickhams) (0-03) (Niall Tormey (Fingal Ravens) (60)), Jonathan Cooper (Na Fianna) (0-02), Warren Finnegan (St. Brigids) (0-02) (Ciaran Norton (Fingal Ravens) (55)), Owen O'Gara (Templeogue Synge St.), Adrian Darcy (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-03). Subs not used - Lar Sweetman (Naomh Fionnbara), Chris Dorney (St. Brigids), Keith Kananagh (Fingal Ravens), David Herlihy (Lucan Sarsfields), Joe Green (St. Finiana Swords), David Hughes (St. Judes).

Roscommon: M Miley, N Carty, R Cox, J Whyte (R Brady (5)), E Towey (D Ward (45)), J Harte, C Garvey, B Higgins, M Reynolds, D Moran, J McKeague (M Killilea (55)), K Higgins (C McHugh (45)), F Dolan, F Cregg, P Garvey (M O'Donoghue (40)).

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Congrats on publishing the presentation.