Wednesday, July 23, 2008

SFC - Dublin Lenster Champions 2008

Dublin 3-23 Wexford 0-09

Everyone supports the Dubs

Anihilation. The only word for it as a sublime 2nd half Dublin display humiliated Wexford & gave the Dubs their 4th Leinster title in a row & 48th provincial title in total.

The Dubs made a number of changes from the Westmeath outing with Kevin Nolan making his championship debut, Paul Griffin, Kevin Bonner & Ciaran Whelan starting. And with an injury to Shocko the Hill got the chance to welcome Collie Moran who had successfully overturned the scandallous suspension handed down to him after Suday Game analysis highlighted a inocuous incident & the CCCC saw fit to invite the referee to re-examine his yellow card decision.

There was some nervousness following the opening exchanges s the Dubs saw 3 chances drop short before Wexford took the lead through Mattie. But it was nip & tuck up to half time with the Blues eventually going in 3 points up 0-10 to 0-07. However this period masked some Dublin dominance at midfield & resolute defending at the back.

The 2nd half was a completely different contest with the Dubs blowing away the yellow bellies. Led by a comanding Shane Ryan at midfield & with the inspired high fielding of Whelo the Dubs had the posession to open up the Wexford men & in Alan Brogan Dublin had the perfect foil. The captain ran rings around his marker crating numerous goal scoring chances, one he shot narrowly wide, another he passed to Dermo for a goal for the Vincents man before a 3rd which he fired under the onrushing keeper. Such was the dominance of the Dubs that the Slaneysiders got their 1st point after 25 minutes of the 2nd half to a chorus of Happy Birthday. One stupid note was the scandallous behaviour of some drunkn louts who eneterd the filed before the game was over. Hopefully the authorities will put video evidence to real use & severely punish these lunatics. So as the final whistle sounded Dublin's quest for All-Ireland glory moves to a new stage and hopes for a favourable draw.

Dublin – Stephen Cluxton (Parnells), David Henry (Raheny), Colin Moran (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-01), Paul Griffin (Kilmaud Crokes) (Ross McConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (60)), Kevin Nolan (Kilmacud Crokes) (Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields) (25)), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps), Barry Cahill (St. Bigids) (0-01), Ciaran Whelan (Raheny), Shane Ryan (Naomh Mearnog) (0-01), Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-06), Jason Sherlock (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-03) (Derek Murray (Round Twers Clondalkin) (65)), Kevin Bonner (St. Brigids) (Paul Flynn (Fingallians) (55)), Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (1-03), Diarmuid Connolly (St. Vincents) (1-03) (Mark Vaughan (Kilmacud Crokes) (60) (1-00)), Tomas Quinn (St. Vincent) (0-05). Subs not used: Michael Savage (St. Vincents), Eamonn Fennell (O'Tooles) Darren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), Brendan McManaon (St. Judes), Philip McMahon (Ballymin Kickhams), Paddy Andrews (St. Brigids), Niall 'Shea (St. Judes), John O'Brien (Round Towers Clondalkin).

Wexford – A Masterson, B Malone, P Wallace, N Murphy (D Walsh (30)), A Morrissey, D Murphy, C Morris, T Howlin (R Stafford (40)), B Doyle (P Colfer (30)), E Bradley (0-02), R Barry (0-01), A Flynn (S Roche (60)), C Lyng (0-04), PJ Banville (C Byrne (60)), M Forde (0-02).

No comments: