Wednesday, July 02, 2008

SFC - Dublin 0-13 Westmeath 1-08

Dublin 0-13 Westmeath 1-08

When Dessie Dolan stepped up to a late 14 yard free the Hill must have thought Dubs 4 in a row was under threat but with the miss came sighs of relief & a late Dublin push to see them home. It looked very serious through the 70 minutes a the Westmeath swarm defence prevented the Blues from sufficient clean posession. In midfield amonn Fennell could not catch cleanly as the sheer number of maroon shirts punched from his hands & won the breaks. But with Dessie Dolan & Dennis Glennon providing the only threat for the midlanders & with the Dubs defence at their best quality Dublin forwards would see them home.

An early goal for Westmeath always gave them a scoring edge. The goal resulted following a through ball over the backs & Michael Ennis fisting over the oncoming Clucko. Little chance for Ireland's #1 keeper who had little else to do through the game. An early hamstring pull for Bernard Brogan didn't help the Dublin cause as he had looked very lively but Diarmuid Connolly entered the fray with a swagger. A facial injury to Shane Ryan saw an early temporary entrance for Ciaran Whelan but it was the 2nd blow to Rhino, not spotted by Ref or RTE, which saw Whelo exert some dominance on the game. The impact of the Big Man cannot be underestimated as his point at the start of the 2nd period which was a real leadership blow. During the clsoing stages Westmeath missed some easy scores but with the Dubs pointing to a few shots off the woodwork these misses may not have been as significant as suggested later.

During the closing period the Dubs defenders, led brilliantly by Cullen & Henry, excelled and a block by Shocko frustrated the midlanders. Barry Cahill chipped in with a late fisted point following a great move up the field & with Jayo also kicking over it was the Dubs who go to their 4th successive Leinster Final. COTD.

Dublin - Stephen Cluxton (Parnells), David Henry (Raheny) (0-01), RossMcConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) (Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields) (35)), Stephen O'Shaughnessy (Lucan Sarsfields), Barry Cahill (St. Brigids) (0-01), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps), Colin Moran (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-01), Eamonn Fennell (O'Tooles) (Ciaran Whelan (Raheny) (55) (0-01)), Shane Ryan (Naomh Mearnog), Paul Flynn (Fingallians) (Mark Vaughan (Kilmacud Crokes)(35)), Jason Sherlock (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) (0-01), Bernard Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) (Diarmuid Connolly (St. Vincents) (15) (0-02)), Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) (0-01), Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-02), Tomas Quinn (St. Vincents) (0-03)(Brendan McManamon (St. Judes) (65)). Subs not used: Michael Savage (St. Vincents), Paddy Andrews (St. Brigids), Deek Murray (Round Towers Clondalkin), Darren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), Kevin Nolan (Kilmacud Crokes), Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams), Niall O'Shea (St. Judes), John O'Brien (Round Towers Clondalkin), Kevin Bonner (St. Brigids), Paul Griffin (Kilmacud Crokes).

Westmeath - Gary Connaughton, Francis Boyle, Kieran Gavin, John Keane, Michael Ennis (1-00), Derek Heavin, Damien Healy, Donal O'Donoghue, David Duffy, Fergal Wilson (David Glennon (65)), John Smyth (Martin Flanagan (55)), Doran Harte, Dessie Dolan (0-05), Denis Glennon (0-03), Dermot Bannon (Alan Mangan (25)).

No comments: