Wednesday, July 02, 2008

JFC - Dublin 1-13 Meath 1-09

Dublin 1-13 Meath 1-09

Rolling back the years - that was the sight facing Dublin fans as Darren Homan took to the bench for the 2008 Leinster Junior Football Final. With Fingal Ravens Gary Brennan no longer in the squad, manager Mick Deegan turned to the experience of Homan & his final entry to the game would prove a turning point.

The Dubs dominated the 1st half but went in at half time level at 05 each. Throughout this period Eoghan O'Gara, Warren Finnegan & Karl Connolly were a thorn in the Meath side and really the Blues should have beenout of sight but hopes of a title were put at risk coming up to h/t when Brian Sexton received a straight red & Meath began to apply real pressure.

The Meath captain was sent to the line half way through the 2nd period but a goal for the Royals still put them in front. Homan's introduction settled the ship & when former senior panelist Colin Prendeville pointed following a run almost the length of the field the Dubs were on a roll. Shortly later Eoghan O''Gara who had been fouled throughout the game was pulled down inside the square & free taker supreme Warren Finnegan buried the ball in the back of the net in front of the Hill faithful. The Dubs were now home & dry, deserved Leinster champions & a real prospect for All-Ireland success. Certainly stars of the day were Prenderville, Fitzsimons, Daly, Bastic & Finnegan with fantastic support all around the field.

DUBLIN - Colin Clarke (Fingallians), Colin Prenderville (Fingal Ravens) (0-01), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens), Nial Brogan (Crumlin) (Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna) (50) (0-01)), Austin Dennis (Skerries Harps), Michael White (Fingal Ravens), Colin Daly (Skeries Harps), Denis Bastic (Templeogue Synge St.), Ronan Joyce (St. Judes), Karl Connolly (Ballymun Kickhams) (0-02) (Niall Tormey (Fingal Ravens) (55)), Brian Sexton (St. Sylvesters), Warren Finnegan (St. Brigids) (1-07), Eoghan O'Gara (Templeogue Synge St.) (0-01), Adrian Darcy (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-01) (Darren Homan (Ballyboden St. Endas) (45)).

MEATH - Neil Burke, Brian O'Reilly, Thomas Dillon (John Donoghue (50)), Michael Burke; Martin Doran (0-01), Colm O Mealóid, John Bruton (Niall Farrell (15) (0-01)), Glen Loughran (Jamie Shaw(55)), Rory O'Connor (JB O'Reilly(30)), Ger McCullagh (0-01), Ian Dowd, Shane McAnerey, TJ Garry (1-04), Jamie Queeney (0-01), David Morgan (0-01).

No comments: