Tuesday, August 05, 2008

LMFC - Dublin Ladies Minor Football Champions 2008

Dublin 2-18 Tyrone 1-04

In a storming display Dublin's won their first Ladies Minor Football title in their third attempt. The victory was achieved with the extraordinary feat of holding Tyrne scoreless in the 2nd half while clocking up an unbelievable 1-13 themselves!

It started well for the Dubs with Noelle Healy opening up with an early goal & even though Tyrone scoared a goal for themselves the Jackies maintained their dominance with going into halftime with a one point lead 1-05 to 1-04.

Managers around the country should find out what was said in the Dubs dressingroom as the Jackies emerged with a fierce determination to ensure victory & in no time had opened up an unsurmountable lead. A 2nd goal for Noelle Healy put the icing on the cake that saw all the starting forwards put their mark on the scoresheet & with ease allow a raft of subs come off the bench to enjoy the moment in the sun.

Congratulations to the management team and all the players on bringing another title back to the Capital. And particular congratulations to Fiona Hudson & Amy Connolly who have attended Club Awards nights in previous years as recipients. We look forward to welcoming the All-Ireland trophy to our next ceremony.

Dublin: Hannah Tyrell (Round Towers Clondalkin), Aoife Burke (St Judes) (Orlagh Egan (Na Fianna)), Karen McGlynn (Skerries Harps), Rachel Nugent (Ballyboden St Endas), Sinead O’ Mahony (Skerries Harps), Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock/Cabinteely) (0-01), Shona Barrett (St. Brigids), Niamh McEvoy (St. Sylvesters), Amy Connolly (Foxrock Cabinteely), Fiona Hudson (Fingallians) (0-01) (Sinead Cumiskey (Parnells) (0-01)), Noelle Healy (St Brigids) (2-03) (Enya Farrell (St. Brigids)), Arlene Cushen (Na Fianna) (0-01), Deborah Geraghty (Castleknock) (0-01) (Amy Ring (Foxrock/Cabinteely) (0-01)), Natalia Hyland (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-07), Sinead Cullen (Skerries Harps) (0-02) (Vicky Browne (Fingallians)). Other panel mambers: Ciara Ryan (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Phillippa Green (Kilmacud Crokes), Rachael Byrne (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Kirstie McArdle (Foxrock/Cabinteely), Shauna Gorman (Ratoath), Niamh Keane (Clann Mhuire), Alyssa Quinn (Kilmacud Crokes).

Tyrone: S McVey, B Quinn, R Rafferty, C Monaghan (S Patterson), N McAnulla, RMolloy, A McShane, E Conlon, S Quinn, E Hegarty (Natalie Hughes), A OKane (0-01), Niamh Hughes (0-01) (EJ Gervin), K Graham (0-01) (S McCann), C Poyntz (0-01), R McCrory (1-00).

No comments: