Monday, February 09, 2009

NHL - Cork 1-14 Dublin 4-14

Anthony Daly got his NHL campaign off to a magnificent start with a well deserved win over Cork in Pairc ui Chaoimh.   Indeed he win should have more convincing but for a series of missed points and a missed penalty.  The Dubs started the game with 1 change from the team announced with teenage sensation Liam Rushe starting in the corner.  It was this selection that would have a huge influence on the game with young Rushe hammering home 2 goals on a very impressive senior competitive debut.

Liam Ryan set up John Kelly for the blues 1st goal before Joey Boland put Rushe off to his 1st goal, his 2nd 5 minutes later after a great pass from Peadar Carton.  Dublin misses created an opening for Cork and at half time the Dubs should have had a much bigger lead than their 6 point advantage 3-04 to 0-07.

The 2 teams traded penalties early in the 2nd half with keeper Alan Nolan seeing his effort blocked while having no chance to save the Cork effort.  Cork were getting close but the same Nolan blocked brilliantly and when Alan McCrabbe saw his sideline cut fortuitously drp to the net the game was over as a contest.  2 great away points for the Dubs who now face new Leinster foes galway at home next weekend.

On a sad note the game was marked with memories of Dublin hurling legend Jimmy Boggan who passed away at the weekend.  All Dublin supporters extend their sympathies to the Boggan family. Ar dheis Dhe go raibh a h-anam.

Dublin: Alan Nolan (St. Brigids), Ruairi Trainor (St. Vincents), Tomas Brady (Na Fianna), Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes), Mikey Carton (O'Tooles) (Maurice O'Brien (Faughs) (55)), Stephen Hiney (Ballyboden S. Endas), Derek O’Reilly (Craobh Chiairain) (0-01), Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St. Endas), Alan McCrabbe (Craobh Chiairain) (1-09),  Joey Boland (Na Fianna) (Simon Lambert (Ballyboden St. Endas) (35)), Liam Ryan (O'Tooles), John Kelly (St. Marks) (1-00) (John McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields) (50) (0-01)), David O’Callaghan (St. Marks) (0-01) (David Treacy (Cuala) (60) (0-01)), Peadar Carton (O'Tooles) (Shane Martin (Crumlin) (65)), Liam Rushe (St. Pats) (2-01). 

Cork: Alan Kennedy, Eoin Clancy (R O'Driscoll (55)), Chris Murphy, Conor O’Sullivan, Eoin Keane, Ray Ryan (J Moran (30)), Craig Leahy, Barry Johnson (1-06), Glen O’Connor (0-01), Tadhg Óg Murohy, Aidan Ryan (0-01), Darren Crowley (0-01) (T Crowley (25)), Aidan Mannix (0-02), Michael Collins (0-01) (G O'Driscoll (60) (0-01)), Eoghan Cronin (0-01). 

No comments: