Tuesday, February 17, 2009


Two wins out of two & a preliminary salvo about entry into the Leinster championship were sounded in Parnell Park on Sunday.  From the outset the Dubs showed a passionate commitment and outhurled Galway from start to finish.

Liam Ryan was to the fore goaling on the 10th minute and setting the tempo for his colleagues for the rest of the game.  He was ably assisted by teenage sensation Liam Rushe who was central to Ryan’s 3 pointer.  Dublin continued their dominance through the 1st half & with Alan McCrabbe in fine freescoring form the jacks were ahead 1-10 to 0-07 at the whistle.

The Dubs strength continued in the 2nd half with scores from Rushe & McCrabbe again as well as Simon Lambert & even had the luxury of taking a point from a penalty following a foul on Liam Rushe.  Dotsy O’Callaghan was a 2nd half sub Lambert & made sure he didn’t miss out on the day in the sun when he goaled following a mixup by the Galway keeper.

Played 2 won 2.  What a start to the League!

Dublin- Alan Nolan (St. Brigid’s), Ruairi Trainor (St. Vincent’s), Tomás Brady (Na Fianna), Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes), Stephen Hiney (Ballyboden St. Endas), Michael Carton (O’Tooles), Derek O’Reilly (Craobh Chiairain), Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St. Endas), John McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields) (0-01), Simon Lambert (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-01) (David O’Callaghan (St. Mark’s (55) (1-00)), Liam Ryan (O’Tooles) (1-03), Alan McCrabbe (Craobg Chiairain) (0-11), Peadar Carton (O’Tooles) (0-01) (David Treacy (Cuala) (65)), John Kelly (St. Mark’s) (0-01) (Shane Martin (Crumlin) (60)), Liam Rushe (St. Pats) (0-03) (Maurice O’Brien (Faughs) (70)).

Galway - C Callanan, S Kavanagh (0-01), D McClearn, F Moore, M Ryan, G Mahon, A Cullinane A Coen (45)), F Healy (0-01), K Hynes (0-01), R Murray (0-01), C Donnellan (J Gantley (45) (0-01)), D Tierney (0-01), G Farragher (0-06), N Healy (0-01) (M Kerins (45)), A Callanan (0-02).

No comments: