Friday, February 06, 2009

Team Selection NHL vs. Cork

Anthony Daly makes three changes for 1st round league game vs. Cork in Pairc ui Chaoimh. The changes from the side which defeated Offaly in the Walsh Shield final. 2006 Supporters Club, Minor Player of the year Tomás Brady comes in at full back with Mikey Carton and Joey Boland are also in the starting lineup.  There was further good news with Supporters Club Minor Player of the Year (2005)
John McCaffrey back on the subs bench after injury. 

In an eclectic mix of representatives from across the county, SHC champions Ballybonden only merit 2 players on the starting 15, O'Tooles (3), Na Fianna (2), St. Vincents (1), Craobh (2), St. Marks (2), Brigids (1), Crokes (1), & Cuala (1).

The eyes of the sporting press will be on the performance of the Cork team & it will be fascinating to see the interest of the Cork faithful given the difficulties down south.  The Dubs must ignore this circus & concentrate on their own game with the hope of getting off to a flying start.

Friends of Dublin Hurling will be posting live score updates on their website once the game starts.

Starting 15

An under pressure Gerald McCarthy announced his team with 5 representatives from Sarsfields, the county champions.  Interestingly there are no representatievs from the All Ireland Club champions of 2004, Newtownshandrum.

Cork Starting 15:
Alan Kennedy (Sarsfields), Eoin Clancy (Fermoy), Chris Murphy (Blackrock), Conor O'Sullivan (Sarsfields), Eoin Keane (St. Finbarrs), Ray Ryan (Sarsfields), Craig Leahy (Sarsfields), Barry Johnson (Bride Rovers), Glen O'Connor (St. Finbarrs), Tadhg Óg Murphy (Sarsfields), Aidan Ryan (Midleton), Darren Crowley (Bandon), Aidan Mannix (Kilworth), Michael Collins (Bride Rovers), Eoghan Cronin (Glen Rovers).

No comments: