Tuesday, June 30, 2009

SFC - Dublin 4-26 Westmeath 0-11

Dublin 4-26 Westmeath 0-11

Gary Connaughton must be glad he didn’t play in the league encounter earlier this year as Dublin walloped Westmeath by 27 points again & set up a Leinster final outing against Kildare in 2 weeks.

By any standards the Dubs had an extraordinary start racing to an 8 point lead in less than 10 minutes & scoring with 40 seconds of the restart. That move, Ross outfielding his direct opponent playing quick ball in to Conal Keaney who laid off to Bernard Brogan for a point set the tone for the day. The Dubs moved the ball quick fast, direct & the midlanders had no answer for the power of the boys in blue. Frustrated keeper Connaughton, who saw every kickout taken by a blue shirt, tried a short one inside 30 minutes only to see Bernard Brogan intercept a handpass between defenders and bury the ball high into the roof of the net. Bernard’s celebration showed the joy of the day & settled the game as a contest, by h/t it was 1-14 to 0-04, a 13 point lead J

There was some concern that the Dubs might ease of in the 2nd period but it wasn’t to be. With Jason Sherlock causing havoc up front, Diarmuid Connolly & Paul Flynn winning every breaking ball around the middle & with Keaney, & the Brogan boys in scoring form Westmeath were in for a trouncing. This ruthlessness streak saw 3 more goals, Connaughton had a nightmare in missing a crossfield ball leaving Bernard in for a tap in, while Darren Magee & substitute Mossy Quinn also shot to the net. The Dubs even had time for a penalty miss from Conal Keaney.

There were impressive cameo appearances for Whelo, Cullen & Ryan with Ryaner charging up field to set up one of the 2nd half points.

And so on the Glorious Twelfth, Orangeman’s Day the men of Dublin take on Na Fianna’s Kieran McGeeney & his Kildare tribe. It will be a cracker.

Dublin -- Stephen Cluxton (Parnells), David Henry (Raheny), Denis Bastick (Templeogue/Synge Street), Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), Paul Griffin (Kilmacud Crokes), Ger Brennan (St. Vincents) (Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps) (55)), Barry Cahill (St. Brigids) (0-01), Ross McConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) (0-01), Darren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes) (1-00) (Ciaran Whelan (Raheny) (60)), Paul Flynn (Fingallians) (0-01), Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) (0-04) (Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes (50)), Diarmuid Connolly (St. Vincents) (0-01), Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-03) (Tomas Quinn (St. Vincent’s) (55) (1-01), Bernard Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) (2-08) (Shane Ryan (Naomh Mearnog) (60)), Jason Sherlock (St. Oliver Plunketts /ER) (0-06)

Westmeath - Gary Connaughton, John Keane, Francis Boyle, Kieran Gavin, Derek Heavin (Paul Sharry (55)), Michael Ennis (Willie Murtagh (60)), Donal O’Donoghue (Damien Healy (30)), Martin Flanagan (David O’Shaughnessy (30) (0-01)), David Duffy, Fergal Wilson (Dessie Dolan (50)), John Smyth, Doran Harte, John Connellan (0-04), Denis Glennon (0-03), Conor Lynam (0-03).

No comments: