Tuesday, June 23, 2009

SHC - Dublin 0-18 Wexford 1-13


1991 Tim Berners Lee announces the WWW Project, Bill Clinton declares his intention to run for President, Operation Desert the Spacelab is carried into orbit by STS 40, Justice Clarence Thomas is appointed only the 2nd African American to the United States Supreme Court and Dublin last appeared in the Leinster Senior Hurling Final. 18 years later and Anthony Daly’s men repeated the honour & go forward to meet the Cats.

The strongest team through the game, never forsaking the lead, the Dubs proved to the doubters that hurling is strong in the capital. The Blues were 1st out of the blocks and with Dotsy & Alan McCrabbe in scoring form they were quickly 7 points up at0-11 to 0-04. The Yellow bellies struck back and Daly must have been delighted to get the boys into the dressing room only 4 up. Within 5 minutes of the restart the sides were level after a Wexford goal from half time sub Kirwan. Dublin rallied through the superb McCrabbe ably assisted by Simon Lambert but nerves were jangling when Flynner was shown a 2nd yellow & the Dubs were down to 14 men. When McCrabbe picked up an injury Dublin’s free taking was under pressure & Wexford applied huge pressure. But with oisin Gough, Tomas Brady & Niall Corcoran the Slaneysiders could not make their advantage count and when lambert pointed the Dubs were home.

Perpetual under achievers George Hook? Maybe you should stick to what you think you know, start asking that question of your failing Lions and leave the Dubs alone.

Dublin -- Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St. Endas), Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes), Tomas Brady (Na Fianna), Oisin Gough (Cuala), Stephen Hiney (Ballyboden St. Endas), Joey Boland (Na Fianna), Michael Carton (O’Tooles) (David Curtin (Ballyboden St. Endas) (50)), John McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields), Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-01), Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields) (Simon Lambert (Ballyboden St. Endas) (35) (0-02)), David Treacy (Cuala) (0-02), Kevin Flynn (O’Tooles), David O’Callaghan (St. Marks) (0-02), Liam Rushe (St. Pats Palmerstown) (0-01), Alan McCrabbe (Craobh Chiairain) (0-10) (David Sweeney (Ballyboden St. Endas) (60)).

Wexford - D Fitzhenry, M Travers, P Roche, D OConnor, M Jacob, R Kehoe (J Tonks (50)), C Kenny, D Lyng (0-07), P Atkinson (N Kirwan (35) (1-00)), W Doran (0-01), T Waters (H Kehoe (20) (0-01)), R Jacob (E Martin (65)), S Doyle (0-01), S Banville (0-01) (PJ Nolan (55)), D Redmond (0-02).

No comments: