Monday, June 08, 2009

SHC - Dublin 2-16 Antrim 0-12

Dublin 2-16 Antrim 0-12

The pressure was all on the Dubs.  Antrim portrayed by the media as the underdog, the Hill watching on and the impressive league campaign putting it up to Anthony Daly’s men to deliver.  And after a stuttering 1st half which still saw the Dubs lead by a point a powerful 2nd half saw the Blues win comfortably.  In this 1st half super keeper Gary Maguire brilliantly stopped a 20 metre free & less than 10 minutes later a penalty.  In the intervening period Dotsy had skipped through the Antrim defence before blasting to the net.  The fact the Dubs had that 1 point half time lead had as much to do with some woeful shooting from the Antrim men who missed shot after shot many from scoring positions.

The 2nd half saw a big change with the Dubs dominant, one assumes after some stern words from manager Daly.  Even still the Blues shot 15 wides, a picture of what was to follow in the football game.  However with the introduction of some subs who were out to prove their worth, particularly led by Kevin Flynn there was little to worry about.  With 5 minutes left the excellent Alan McCrabbe goaled & the Metropolitans were home.

Dublin -- Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St. Endas), Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes), Tomas Brady (Na Fianna), Oisin Gough (Cuala), Stephen Hiney (Ballyboden St. Endas), Michael Carton (O’Tooles), Joey Boland (Na Fianna), John McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields), Alan McCrabbe (Craobh Chiairain) (1-09) (David Sweeney (Ballyboden St. Endas) (65)), Shane Durkan (Ballyboden St. Endas) (Peadar Carton (O’Tooles) (55)), Liam Ryan (O’Tooles) (Kevin Flynn (O’Tooles) (35) (0-01)), David Curtin (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-01) (Simon Lambert (Ballyboden St. Endas (45)), David O'Callaghan (St. Marks) (1-03), Liam Rushe (St. Pats Palmerstown), David Treacy (Cuala) (0-02).

Antrim -- Ryan McGarry , Kieran McGourty, Neil McGarry, Aaron Graffin, Johnny Campbell, Cormac Donnelly, Neill McAuley, Paddy Richmond, Karl McKeegan (0-01), Sean Delargy (0-01) (Paddy McGill (60)), Neil McManus (0-01), Michael Herron (0-01) (Joey Scullion (50) (0-01)), Conor John McGourty (0-01), Karl Stewart (0-05), PJ O'Connell (Brendan Herron (30) (0-01)).

No comments: