Wednesday, June 03, 2009

Team Selection - SFC vs. Meath

Pat Gilroy's 1st championship at the helm sees a very different team from that which played in last year's championship.  The fullback & halfback lines reflect the lines seen in the closing stages of the league while up front some faces new & brothers in arms to the fore.  Add to that no Ciaran Whelan, Bryan Cullen, Jason Sherlock & All-Star Shane Ryan & it will be a day of interest for Dubs fans.

Starting 15:

Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

David Henry (Raheny), Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge Street), Alan Hubbard (Ballymun Kickhams),

Paul Griffin (Kilmacud Crokes)Ger Brennan (St. Vincents)Barry Cahill (St. Brigids),

Ross McConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER)Darren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)

Paul Flynn (Fingallians) Paddy Andrews (St. Brigids) Bernard Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER)

Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas), Mark Daveron (Kilmacud Crokes), Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER)

There are 8 changes from the team which lost to Tyrone last summer and 7 name changes from Dublin's last game against Meath, albeit many of the Dublin players playing that day will have very different roles on Sunday.  Interestingly only Paddy Andrews played for Dublin's U21 team which beat Meath in the U21 championship earlier in the year.

And a special day for the Brogan family as Alan & James start a competitive game together for the 1st time.

No comments: