Monday, April 12, 2010

NFL - Tyrone 1-11 Dublin 2-14

Tyrone 1-11 Dublin 2-14

Mixed feelings leaving Omagh with a win but at the same time failing to reach the League Final – We don’t think so. A tremendous victory over one of the big boys, away from home in really impressive fashion.

Right from the start the Dubs put Harte’s men to the sword. Bernard was unmarkable while Kevin Mc put in a very impressive display. In the middle Eamonn Fennel put in one of his best league displays while at the back Cian O’Sullivan, Philly McMahon & Rory O’Carroll were dominant.

So in control, were Dublin that they led by 9 points at half time. 6 of these points came via 2 late goals – one from the returning Alan Brogan, set up by the brother, the other from Niall Corkery, who made a very impressive 1st start. Tyrone were 1st out of the traps in the 2nd period & put the Dubs under sustained pressure. However a succession of missed chances, including a number of goal shots when points were available, proved costly. They home side did create a scare when Penrose robbed Keeper Savage, when he should have cleared sooner, and netted. Tyrone narrowed the gap but the Blues rode out this period and finished the stronger. Henno saw the line for a 2nd yellow on 65 minutes, which seemed harsh, but even this wasn’t enough to trouble the Metropolitans.

The Rebels started a weakened team & were beaten by Mayo ensuring the Dubs missed out on the league final. However smiles on the Club bus on he way home after a most enjoyable away trip.

Dublin -- Michael Savage (St. Vincents), Paul Conlon (St. Vincents), Rory O'Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams), Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields), Cian O'Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes), Denis Bastick (Templeogue/SS) (Barry Cahill (St. Brigids) (35)), Eamonn Fennell (O’Tooles) (0-01), Ross McConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (Michael MacAuley (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-01) (25) (Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue/SS) (65))), David Henry (Raheny) (0-01) (S/O (65)), Niall Corkery (Kilmacud Crokes) (1-00), Paul Flynn (Fingallians) (Diarmuid Connolly (St. Vincents) (50) (Paul Flynn (Fingallians (65)), Alan Hubbard (Ballymun Kickhams) (Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (30) (1-01)), Kevin McManamon (St. Judes) (0-02), Bernard Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-08).

Tyrone -- J Curran, D Carlin, Joe McMahon (C McCarron (15)), R McMenamin, D Harte (S O’Neill (60)), C Gormley, P Jordan, A Cassidy, C Cavanagh, K Coney (0-02) (N McKenna (60)), B McGuigan (0-01) (R Mellon (55)), P Harte (0-01), M Penrose (1-01), S Cavanagh (0-05), M Donnelly (K Hughes (35) (0-01)).

No comments: