Thursday, May 06, 2010

Player of the Year Awards 2009

On a proud night for the Supporters Club, Parnell Park was the venue for the presentation of the awards for 2009.

First up to receive his award was the Minor Player of the Year (Robin Kivlehan Memorial Award), Gary Sweeney. The Club were delighted to welcome Gary and his parents and were particularly pleased to congratulate Gary on his part in the All-Ireland U21 championship win.

Cliodhna O'Connor, fresh from saving a penalty in a club game earlier that evening received the Ladies Footballer of the Year.

Alison Maguire took home the Camogie Player of the Year award.

Following in the footsteps of his older brother, Bernard Brogan won the award for Footballer of the Year.
Bernard Brogan and club member Agnes Freeman
Alan McCrabbe was unable to attend on the night as he was playing club championship and arrangements will be made to present the Hurler of the Year to Alan on another night.

Wayne Ivory, grandson of our departed friend John O'Neill, presented our merit award winner. This year the award was made to a man who has devoted so much of his life to promoting hurling in the county. This man was so responsible for improving the facilities for our hurlers. The 2009 Merit Award winner in recognition of his tremendous dedication to promoting gaelic in the capital: Mr. Michael O'Grady.

No comments: