Monday, July 26, 2010

SFC - Dublin 2-14 Louth 0-13

Dublin 2-14 Louth 0-13
It was all over almost before it started although with the number of wides kicked by the Blues it could have even been more comfortable.
The Dubs started strong dominating the opening exchanges with MacAuley, McConnell, Cullen and Corkery cleaning up around the middle.  Within the 1st minute the pattern of the game was established.  Bernard stepped up to take a free kicks short for the ball to fall to Niall Corkery whose goal bound shot was deflecyed out for a 45.  Up steps Clucko to kick the 1st score of the game.  A minute later and it was 2-0 when Alan B kicked over.  The a series of wides led to some worried Dubs fans but the nerves were settled on 11 minutes when Eoghan O’Gara burst through a number of challenges and shot to the net, his kick deflected past the Wee keeper.  It took a further 6 minutes for the Louth men to record their 1st score: 1-03 to 0-01 now.  The Dubs remained in control and on the 29th minute Alan got on to a pass and kicked through to Eoghan who again turned his man powered through on goal and kicked under the keeper for his 2nd 3 pointer of the day.  Louth did get a couple of late scores but on the half time whistle the Dubs led 2-06 to 0-03.
One couldn’t expect Louth to be as bad in the 2nd period and they kicked off a couple of early scores in front of the 47,738 crowd.  No need for panic as Giller started with a number of changes Paul Flynn 1st on for Niall Corkery.  Flynn and Cullen kicked points and the Blues held an 8 point lead.  Such was the Dubs command of the game Pat emptied the bench and had the luxury of seeing his 2nd pick midfield seeing out the game with Eamonn Fennell & Darren Magee on for MacAuley & McConnell.  Conal Keaney also entered the field and was industrious throughout.  Late on Conal could very easily have been given a penalty with ref Pat McEnaney ruling it just outside the square & Bernard kicking the resultant free over.  To the delight of the crowd Stephen Cluxton also had time to kick a 2nd 45.  Alan Brogan was the last man off and even though it wasn’t his best scoring day he worked his socks off throughout and his runs into space through the day was a constant threat setting up his colleagues for good chances.  But it was Bryan Cullen who deservedly got the MOTM award running himself into the ground, kicking 3 good points using both feet and putting in a series of big hits. 
The final whistle blew giving a 7 points win for the Dubs & a return to the Quarter Finals.  On Sunday the Dubs drew Tyrone again L but after our league win in Omagh – bring them on.
Dublin - Stephen Cluxton (Parnells) (0-02), Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams), Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Barry Cahill (St. Brigids), Ger Brennan (St. Vincents) (0-01), Kevin Nolan (Kilmacud Crokes), Michael Dara MacAuley (Ballyboden St. Endas) (Darren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes) (55)), Ross McConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-01) (Eamonn Fennell (O’Tooles) (50)), Niall Corkery (Kilmacud Crokes) (Paul Flynn (Fingallians) (40) (0-01)), David Henry (Raheny) (Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas) (45)), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps) (0-03), Bernard Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-03), Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue/SS) (2-01), Alan Brogan(St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (Tomas Quinn (St. Vincents) (60) (0-01)). Subs not used: Michael Savage (St. Vincents), Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields), Paul Conlon (St. Vincents), Paul Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER), James Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER), Kevin McManamon (St. Judes), Paddy Andrews (St. Brigids), Kevin Bonner (St. Brigids), Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes), Denis Bastick (Templeogue/SS), Hugh Gill (St. Vincents), Alan Hubbard (Ballymun Kickhams), Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
Louth - N Gallagher, E McAuley, D Finnegan, J O’Brien, R Finnegan (D Byrne (30) (0-02)), M Fanning, S Fitzpatrick (D Crilly (65)), P Keenan (0-02), B White (0-03) (R Carroll (45)), A McDonnell (0-01), M Brennan, A Reid, C Judge (D Clarke (30) (0-03)), S Lennon (0-01), JP Rooney (D Maguire (60) (0-01)). 

No comments: