Saturday, July 24, 2010

Team Selection - SFC vs. Louth (2010)

If it's a Saturday then the Dubs must me in Qualifier action & this week it is the men of Louth that present the challenge. The Wee men will be looking to avenge the nature of their Leinster Final defeat to the Royallers & the Dubs will have to be on their guard against a team that has come on leaps & bounds since their last meeting. On that occasion the Dubs ran amok and what Pat Gilroy wouldn't give for even half that margin of victory.
Starting 15
Stephen Cluxton (Parnells), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes),  Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams), Kevin Nolan (Kilmacud Crokes), Ger Brennan (St Vincent’s), Barry Cahill (St Brigid’s), Ross McConnell (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER), Michael Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Niall Corkery (Kilmacud Crokes), Alan Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps), David Henry (Raheny), Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue/SS), Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER).

Interestingly only 6 of the Dubs team started in that last championship meeting: Cluxton, Henry, McConnell, Cullen, Cahill & Alan.

Dublin have met Louth in the U21 championship in each of the last 2 years & again only 1 player played in either of these teams, Rory O'Carroll this year.


Anonymous said...

On behalf of Louth GAA supporters thank you for your warm reception and rounds of applause of the team at the end of the game especially from the Hill. Fair play to you-I wish you the best in the championship going forward.

Dublin GAA Supporters Club said...

Dublin Supporters take a bow.

Anonymous said...

Too all the louth players & fans.
very hard luck against the dubs in croke park.
but remember we all the dubs still believe you the louth players are the real leinster champions.
you might not have the medels too prove it but in our hearts you won that leinster final.

best of luck for the furtue.
Alan Q from dublin