Friday, August 06, 2010

SFC - Dublin 1-15 Tyrone 0-13

Dublin 1-15 Tyrone 0-13

Dublin’s start of year quest to beat one of the big 3 came true as they saw off the Ulster champions in a brilliant performance on Saturday. Many post game pundits put the Dubs win down to luck but this does a real disservice to a quality gutsy performance all around the field.

The Blues were first out of the blocks and when Alan was pulled down close to goal brother Bernard kicked the 1st score. He was scored the 2nd and when Bryan Cullen got onto a pass from Eoghan O’Gara the Blues were 3 up after only 6 minutes. To huge applause Clucko kicked another 45 for the Dubs to lead 5-2 after twenty minutes and Giller must have been delighted with the start.

Tyrone hit back hard taking a one point lead only for Philly McMahon to kick a monster score from out the field, lifting his colleagues spirits and levelling the game. Tyrone scored again and then the 1st major incident of the game. Martin Penrose received a pass and was through one on one on the keeper. Stephen C made himself very big forcing the northerner to kick higher than he would have liked and his shot came off the crossbar. Sean Cavanagh was first to respond but in battling fashion Barry Cahill put in a fantastic block with the ball going out for a sideline kick and the half time whistle. Tyrone leading 0-08 to 0-07.

62,749 were in attendance and witnessed a pulsating 2nd period. Giller made changes with Paul Flynn & a fit again Cian O’Sullivan on for David Henry and Barry Cahill for the start of the 2nd. Again the Dubs recorded the 1st score with Bernard Brogan tormenting anyone who was put out to mark him. On this occasion Alan was fouled and Bernard kicked the point with aplomb into the Hill. It was tit for tat as Eamonn Fennell was introduced for the Niall Corkery with Alan Brogan kicking over superbly to tie it up at 10 points each.

Incredibly Tyrone would only record three more points over the remaining 20 minutes. Dublin pulled ahead with the unmarkable Bernard in incredible form but the gutsy red hand men fought back. Despite missing making chances, all under ferocious pressure from the Dublin backs, Mugser kicked the northern men level 13 a piece. Then the turning point. Paul Flynn found himself in space and shot for a point only to see the ball come back of the posts. Eoghan O’Gara was first to the break and blasted to the net. Substitute Keaney surprisingly on for Alan and Mick MacAuley kicked the last two scores of the game. Fittingly there was time for Alan to be reintroduced for a very hard working Bryan Cullen. When Alan hit the deck late on he quietly smiled at the Hill as he knew the game was won.

A great day, great celebrations for a great team performance. Bring on Cork.

Dublin - Stephen Cluxton (Parnells) (0-01), Michael Fizsimons (Cuala), Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams) (0-01), Barry Cahill (St. Brigids) (Cian O’;Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes) (35)), Ger Brennan (St. Vincents), Kevin Nolan 9Kilmacud Crokes), Michael Dara MacAuley (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-01), Ross McConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER), Niall Corkery (Kilmacud Crokes), Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-01) (Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas) (50) (0-01)), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps) (0-01) (Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (65)), David Henry (Raheny) (Paul Flynn (Fingallians) (35), Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue/SS) (1-00), Bernard Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-09). Subs not used: Michael Savage (St. Vincents), Kevin McManamon (St., Judes), Eamonn Fennell (O’Tooles), Tomas Quinn (St. Vincents), Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfileds), Paul Conlon (St. Vincents), Paul Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER), Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes), Paddy Andrews (St. Brigids), Darren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), Denis Bastick (Templeogue/SS), Hugh Gill (St. Vincents), James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

Tyrone - Pascal McConnell, Cathal McCarron (Dermot Carlin (25)), Justin McMahon, Ryan McMenamin, Davy Harte (Stephen O’Neill (35)), Conor Gormley, Philip Jordan (0-02), Colm Cavanagh, Kevin Hughes (Enda McGinley (60)), Brian Dooher, Brian McGuigan (0-02), Joe McMahon, Martin Penrose (0-05) (Peter Harte (65)), Sean Cavanagh, Owen Mulligan (0-05).

No comments: