Friday, July 30, 2010

Team Selection - SFC QF vs. Tyrone (2010)

No surprises from Pat Gilroy as he names the same starting 15 for Saturday’s game versus Tyrone. In a deserved vote of confidence the Dubs will go into the game with the county behind them and a real opportunity to avenge their last championship outing against the red hand men. 6 of the team are survivors from the last championship between the 2 teams: Clucko, Henno, Ross, Barry, Bryan & Alan, although in the cases of David Henry & Ross McConnell in very different roles.

Surprisingly only 6 players started in the Dubs 6 point win the last time they met: Rory & Philly were on the full back line, there is an entirely new half back line, Ross started at midfield, while Henno, Corkery & Bernard started on the forward lines. They were also joined over the course of the game by MacAuley, Alan & Barry. Here’s hoping for a repeat outing.

Starting 15:

Stephen Cluxton (Parnells), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams), Kevin Nolan (Kilmacud Crokes), Ger Brennan (St Vincent’s), Barry Cahill (St Brigid’s), Ross McConnell (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER), Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Niall Corkery (Kilmacud Crokes), Alan Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps), David Henry (Raheny), Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue/SS), Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER).

There’s going to be a big crowd and let’s get behind the Boys in Blue to see them home.

The Tyrone team (9 of whom were beaten by the Dubs in Omagh):

P McConnell, C McCarron, J McMahon, R McMenamin, D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan, C Cavanagh, K Hughes, B Dooher, B McGuigan, J McMahon, M Penrose, S Cavanagh, O Mulligan.

No comments: