Monday, July 02, 2007

Dublin v. Kilkenny - MHC Match Report


Leinster champions for the 2nd time in three years. More than making up for the disappointment of Saturday's senior loss to Cork, the Minors marched on to success led by David Treacy, Barry O'Rorke and Rory O'Carroll. Dublin were more than value for their win. Indeed with the Kittens goal coming on the stroke of full time The Dubs were just too good on the day. To so many yesterday was another proud day in the revitalisation of hurling in the capital. An honest effort from a talented bunch of dedicated blues.

The Irish Times' Tom Humphries puts it most eloquently in today's edition when considering the forthcoming Tour de France "All in all I'd rather be watching the Dublin minors. Yesterday they reminded me of romance and obsession and watching them do their lap of honour in Croke Park I wasn't wondering about what tawdry revelations of EPO, growth hormone or good old-fashioned stimulants would later stain the sepia of the memory. "

The hurling future is bright, the hurling future is blue!

Dublin - Finn McGarry (Ballyboden St Enda's); Oisin Gough (Cuala), Eanna Walsh (Ballyboden St Enda's), Paul Schutte (Cuala) (Michael Jordan (St. Oliver Plunketts) (60));Peter Buckeridge (Ballyboden St. Endas), Rory O'Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields) (0-01); Darren Mooney (St. Kevins) (Alan McMullen (Ballyboden St. Endas) (20) (0-01), Darren Whelan (Crumlin); Johnny Cooper (Na Fianna), David Treacy (Cuala) (0-03), Barry O'Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes) (1-02); Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda's) (Emmet McCabe (Naomh Barrog) (50) (0-01)), Paul Garbutt (Nh Barrog) (1-00) (Kevin O'Loughlin (Kilmacud Crokes) (40)), Wayne Brogan (Na Fianna) (0-03) (R O'Loughlin) (60).

KILKENNY - C McGrath; C Fogarty, K Mooney, E Malone; J Fitzpatrick, P Murphy (1-00), D Langton; PJ Rowe, M Fagan; M Bergin (0-05), M Murphy (0-02), A Stapleton (0-01) (S Waugh); S Brennan (0-02) (J Nolan), D Walton (T Breen), J Brennan.

No comments: