Monday, April 28, 2008

Dublin lose NFL Div2 Final

Mounted Police expecting trouble before the game?

Dublin 0-10 Westmeath 0-15
Dublin my have topped the Division 2 League table but losing Saturday's final against Westmeath meant they will take home no silverware. With so many players not avalable for selection the Dubs would always be under pressure & leading 7-6 at half time must have given hope but the wind advantage second half would prove significant.

There were excellent 1st half moments, John O'Brien & Conal Keaney kicking some exceptional long range points. But two incidents would determine the course of the game. First, one of terrible luck as Conal K saw a palmed effort rebound off the crossbar after a fantastic run by Mark Vaughan. Then an injury to Jason Sherlock saw him depart and the loss of leader & focal point of attack severely blunted the forward line & Dublin could not recover.

The ruthless nature of the modern game was shown when substitute Ray Cosgrove was withdrawn after only 20 minutes on the field. The reaction of some so called Dublin supporters to this substitution was a disgrace & one hopes they hang their heads in shame of their treatment of an amateur player who has given so much to the Dublin cause.

The Dublin forward line struggled badly in the 2nd half with no permutation or alteration changing matters. The Dubs kicked 3 points in this period not close enough as Denis Glennon & Dermot Bannon ran the Blues a merry dance.

Promotion gained & the opportunity to look at players in different positions will stand to Dublin over the summer.

Dublin - Stephen Cluxton; David Henry, Barry Cahill, Paul Casey; Colin Moran, Bryan Cullen (0-01), Ger Brennan; Darren Magee, Shane Ryan; Kevin Bonner (0-01) (Derek Murray (65)), Jason Sherlock (0-02) (Ray Cosgrove (30) (Tiernan Diamond (50)), Brendan McManamon (0-01) (Eoghan O'Gara (55)); John O'Brien (0-02), Conal Keaney (0-01), Mark Vaughan (0-02).

Westmeath - G Connaughton; J Keane, K Gavin, F Boyle; M Ennis, D Heavin, D Healy; M Flanagan (0-01), D O'Donoghue; F Wilson (0-04), J Smyth, D Harte; A Mangan (0-1) (D Dolan (60)), D Glennon (0-01), D Bannon (0-03).

No comments: