Friday, April 25, 2008

Team Selection - NFL League Final vs. Westmeath

Paul Caffrey is forced to make changes following the suspensions handed out after the Meath game. In a new look full-back line, half-back regulars Barry Cahill & Paul Casey are introduced while Darren Magee makes his 1st competitive start since the drawn championship game against Meath last year. Up front Mark Vaughan, Conal Keaney, Kevin Bonner come in along with John O'Brien who starts his 1st game since the opening league round, also against Westmeath.

9 of the Dublin team who started against Westmeath in the League return, (Stephen Cluxton, Paul Casey, Colin Moran, Shane Ryan, Bryan Cullen, Jason Sherlock, John O'Brien, Conal Keaney & Mark Vaughan) with 10 of the Westmeath team from that day taking the line.

Interestingly only three Dubs started in Dublin's 10 point win over Westmeath in the O'Byrne Cup - Colin Moran, Shane Ryan & Jason Sherlock, although Bryan Cullen, David Henry, John O'Brien & Paul Casey were introduced as substitutes that day.

Dublin Starting 15:

Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

David Henry (Raheny) Barry Cahill (St. Brigids) Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields)

Colin Moran (Ballyboden St. Endas) Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps) Ger Brennan (St. Vincents)

Darren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes) Shane Ryan (Naomh Mearnog)

Brendan McManamon (St. Judes)
Mark Vaughan (Kilmacud Crokes) Kevin Bonner (St. Brigids)

Jason Sherlock (St. Oliver Plunketts) Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas) John O'Brien (Round Towers Clondalkin)

Westmeath - Gary Connaughton (Tubberclair); Francis Boyle (Killucan), Kieran Gavin (Mullingar Shamrocks), John Keane (Rosemount); Michael Ennis (Ballinagore), Derek Heavin (Castledaly), Damien Healy (Salthill Knocknacarra); Martin Flanagan (Tyrellspass), Donal O'Donoghue (Mullingar Shamrocks); Fergal Wilson (Tubberclair), John Smyth (The Downs), Doran Harte (Garrycastle); Alan Mangan (St. Malachys), Denis Glennon (Tyrellspass), Dermot Bannon (Athlone).

Pairc Tailteann

No comments: