Monday, June 23, 2008

MHC - Dublin 3-13 Wexford 3-13

Dublin 3-13 Wexford 3-13
In a thrilling game the Dubs came within a hare's breath of winning with a last minute free from the yellow bellies enough to force a replay. 6 goals what more would you want with 3 coming within 2 minutes, Wexford scoring 1st before goals from Captain fantastic Liam Rushe. The Dubs were 4 up at half time 3-06 to 2-05 & increased the advantage to 6 before Wexford hit back. A mix up on the Dublin goal line with the Dubs failing to clear let Wexford in and a tense finish was at hand. Wexford tied it up before the Blues took another lead only to see the pointed free set up a draw.

The replay is scheduled for 28 June in Wexford. Here's hoping the Minors can learn lessons from their senior counterparts.

Dublin - Eoin Young (Round Towers Clondalkin) (Mark Schutte (Cuala) (45)), Bill O'Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes) (Fionán Clabby (Ballinteer St. Johns) (50)), Darren Kelly (Craobh Chiairain), Simon Timlin (Cuala), Martin Quilty (Na Fianna), Colm O'Farrell (Cuala), Dean Curran (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-01), Joey O'Callaghan (Castleknock) (0-01) (Ciaran Dorney (St. Vincents (50)), Conor Gough (Cuala) (0-01), Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St. Endas), Mark Coughlan (Kilmacud Crokes), Kevin O'Loughlin (Kilmacud Crokes) (0-08), Ciaran Brennan (Faughs) (1-01) (Mark Sutcliffe (55)), Liam Rush (St. Patricks, Palmerstown) (2-00), Daire Plunkett (St. Brigids) (0-01).

Wexford - M Fanning, W Devereux, Matthew O'Hanlon (1-04), P Donnelly, S Murphy, E Moore, J Leacy, H Kehoe, A Shore, S Tomkins (0-02), P Morris (0-07), J Gahan (P Kelly (25) (L McGovern (40))), D O'Keeffe (1-00) (B Nolan (45)), Michael O'Hanlon (C Clince (35)), J Kelly (1-00).

No comments: