Sunday, July 18, 2010

SFC - Dublin 0-14 Armagh 0-11

Dublin 0-14 Armagh 0-11
All the crowd wanted was to see their Dubs put in a display of passion, well probably they wanted a win but in truth they got both.  From the start the Blues showed a level of desire, a determination that they would give no ground and would not lose.  It would prove decisive.
Giller was forced to make two late changes:  Barry Cahill came in for Paul Flynn and Bryan Cullen in for Kevin Mc.  Armagh withdrew a forward leaving Philly McMahon as a sweeper at the back – it would prove crucial.  Almost from the throwin the Dubscreated their 1st goal chance – Henno found Alan who turned and accelerated past his man and shot at goal leaving Paul Hearty helpless but the ball teravlled narrowly wide.  Armagh had the best of the next series of exchanges and opened up a four point lead.  Stevie McDonnell was well handled in this period by Rory O’Carroll with Stevie Mc only registering 1 point.  The Dubs fought back led by Alan Brogan who was setting up much possession from the half forward line.  Bernard was outstanding and when Clucko stepped up to kick over an injury time 45 the sides were level at six points each.
A further change at half time with Eoghan O’Gara withdrawn with Kevin Mc introduced.  The Blues were first out of the blocks with Kevin Mc and Bernard registering scores.  Also a sublime point for Philly who used the chance of being unmarked to move upfield and kick over into the Hill.  Pat continued to make some switches: on came Eamonn Fennell for Corkery, Flynn for Henry, McGee for McConnell and Andrews for Cullen.  In each case the subs settled quickly and brought new energy to the team.  Armagh had poorer options on the bench a real factor in the game.  Flynn wasn’t long before he too kicked a point and the Dubs had a well deserved 3 point lead.  Armagh fought back bringing it back to 1 then the crucial point of the game – with ten minutes left Brian Mallon was through on goal, drew Stephen off his line and shot home only to see the inspired Philip McMahon sweep behind his keeper stretch his leg Mr. Fantastic style to kick the ball out for a 45.
Armagh’s confidence went like a balloon pricked by a pin while the Dubs upped their game.  Bernard Brogan turned his man again passed to Kevin Mc who palmed to goal, Bernard got to the ball only to see his kick hit the upright.  Stevie McDonnell uncharacteristically missed 45s & frees and when Eamonn Fennell picked up a pass late on and blaster over for a point the Dubs were home and dry.
The roar from the Hill said it all – our heroes were back and had made us proud. 
Dublin: Stephen Cluxton (Parnells) (0-01), Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala), Rory O'Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes), Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams) (0-01), Kevin Nolan (Kilmacud Crokes), Ger Brennan (St. Vincents), Barry Cahill (St. Brigids), Michael  McAuley (Ballyboden St. Endas), Ross McConnell (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (Darren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes) (60)), Bryan Cullen (Skerries Harps) (Paddy Andrews (St. Brigids) (65)), David Henry (Raheny) (Paul Flynn (Fingallians) (55) (0-01)), Niall Corkery (Kilmacud Crokes) (Eamonn Fennell (O’Tooles) (45) (0-01)), Bernard Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER) (0-09), Eoghan O'Gara (Templeogue/SS) (Kevin McManamon (St. Judes) (35) (0-01)), Alan Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER). Subs not used: (Michael Savage (St. Vincents), Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St. Endas), Tomas Quinn (St. Vincents), Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields), Paul Conlon (St. Vincents), Paul Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER), James Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts/ER), Kevin Bonner (St. Brigids), Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes), Denis Bastick (Templeogue/SS), Hugh Gill (St. Vincents), Alan Hubbard (Ballymun Kickhams).

Armagh: Paul Hearty, Andy Mallon, Brendan Donaghy, Vincent Martin, Paul Duffy, Ciaran McKeever (0-01), Finnian Moriarty, Charlie Vernon (Tony Kernan (65)), Kieran Toner (Joe Feeney (40) (0-01)), Malachy Mackin (0-01) (James Lavery (50)), Aaron Kernan (0-01), Garety Swift, Brian Mallon (0-01) (Francis Hanratty (65)), Steven McDonnell (0-05), Jamie Clarke (0-01). 

No comments: