Sunday, July 18, 2010

SHC - Dublin 0-19 Antrim 1-17

Dublin 0-19 Antrim 1-17
Perhaps it was complacency, perhaps some tiredness after Wednesday’s U21 win, maybe even the late withdrawal of Johnny McCaffrey but whatever it was it was a big disappointment to see the Dubs crash out of the SHC.  So long ago now the win over Clare. 
Antrim got off to the perfect start when the full back line seemed indecisive going for a ball and Antrim goaled giving Gary Mc no chance.  The Dubs fought back in a tough battle & eventually levelled it up at half time.  The Hill seemed more relaxed as the Dubs did as they did against Clare rattling off a series of scores to open up a comfortable 6 point lead.  A couple of changes including Dotsy coming off and suddenly Antrim sniffed a chance.  They drove on and the Dubs seemed frozen to respond.  In injury time they were level and when the Dubs went for goal instead of tapping over a point extra time was looming.  However Dinny Cahill’s men hadn’t given up and a late point and despair for the Blues.
Around the field the Dubs seemed lethargic and far too often were out muscled.  In the aftermath Anthony Daly said he would be considering his position.  Here’s hoping with a little time he’ll decide to stay on and complete his mission.  It is easy to forget that the team has progressed – a win over Clare already in the bag this year and a crop of U21s chomping at the bit to pay next year.
Dublin: Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St. Endas), Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes), Tomas Brady (Na Fianna), Oisin Gough (Cuala), Stephen Hiney (Ballyboden St. Endas), Joey Boland (Na Fianna) (0-01), Maurice O'Brien(Faughs), Simon Lambert (Ballyboden St. Endas) (0-03), Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St. Endas), Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields), Liam Rushe (St. Pats) (0-01), Alan McCrabbe (Craobh Chiairain) (0-07), Peadar Carton (O’Tooles) (0-03), Declan O'Dwyer (Naomh Olaf) Dotsy O'Callaghan (St. Marks) (0-01).
Antrim: Chris O'Connell, Kieran McGourty, Cormac Donnelly, Sean Delargy (0-01), Paul Shiels, John Campbell, Ciaran Herron, Shane McNaughton (0-02), Karl Stewart, Simon McCrory, Neil McManus (0-08), Tommy McCann, PJ O'Connell (1-01), Liam Watson, Karl McKeegan (0-2).

No comments: